Monday, May 15, 2017

Congratulations VUHS Future Farmers of America (FFA) Members

They made us proud at this year’s state convention.
·       Howie Vander Wey earned 4th place and Raymond Vander Wey 1st place in the safe tractor operation competition.
·       Tianna Riviat earned 3rd place and Brody King earned 2nd in the dairy handling competition.
·       Andrew Woods scored 2nd place in the extemporaneous public speaking event.
·       Emily Jackson submitted the best FFA secretary’s book in the state and earned $50.
·       Our Parliamentary Procedure team gave the best demonstration seen at the state level in years and earned the right to compete nationally. Great work Andrew Woods, Robert Verburg, Emily Jackson, Brianna Vander Wey, Breanna De Smit, Howie Vander Wey, and Tianna Riviat.
·       Our Ag Mechanics team won the state competition for the first time in several years and each member earned a $7,000 scholarship to the University of Northwestern Ohio. Congratulations Grady Devoid, Michael Davis, Jacob Barnes and Cody DeVries. Michael also won 3rd place individually and Cody won 1st place individually.
·       This past year the majority of the state officers were VUHS alumni: Nick Jackson, Shawnna Vander Wey, and Nicole Stearns.
·       Breanna DeSmit, our chapter President, earned her state degree and was also elected Vermont FFA Vice President.

Amazing job Vergennes FFA!

No comments:

Post a Comment